More Tributes to Jonathan Frid

Since the news of Jonathan Frid’s death yesterday, there have been several tributes. Here’s some links to a few of my favorites:

  • Johnny Depp issued the following statement: “Jonathan Frid was the reason I used to run home from school to watch Dark Shadows. His elegance and grace was an inspiration then and will continue to remain one forever more. When I had the honour to finally meet him, as he so generously passed the torch of Barnabas to me, he was as elegant and magical as I had always imagined. My deepest condolences to his family and friends. The world has lost a true original.” Classy.
  • This article, from Jonathan’s hometown newspaper The Spec, is an excellent illustration of his everyday life. It also includes many great quotes and anecdotes from Frid’s nephews and friends.
  • Collinwood.net’s reflections on Jonathan’s passing and enduring legacy here.
  • Matthew Hall, son of Sam (original Dark Shadows writer) and Grayson (Dr. Julia Hoffman) and also a writer on the Dark Shadows revival series, recorded a few memories of Jonathan here.
  • Lara Parker recently launched a new website and blog. She posted her own moving tribute to Jonathan here.
  • David Selby’s poignant letter to Jonathan on his blog here. I think this is my favorite.
  • And as linked below in my post about Jonathan, Kathryn Leigh Scott paid tribute to her colleague and friend on her blog here.

I’m sure the tributes will keep coming–something that probably would have baffled and humbled Mr. Frid. I was saddened to find an envelope from Dark Shadows in the mail last night. It was full of advertisements, promoting various books and audio dramas about Dark Shadows, the Dark Shadows movie première party in Los Angeles in a few weeks (wish I could go!), and “A Day at Collinwood” event in July–with special appearances by Kathryn Leigh Scott, Lara Parker, and Jonathan Frid. 

I’m still working through yet another rewatch of the 1795 storyline, and I reached the end of a disc, which always includes a bonus interview with one of the actors or crew members. This particular disc included an interview with Jonathan Frid in which he discusses his introduction to the show. He finished a production of The Tempest as Caliban and decided to further pursue his academic career when his agent informed him of the opportunity to audition for Dark ShadowsHow strange it is that I am finishing yet another study of that particular Shakespeare play. And how I would have loved to see Frid as Caliban! What an extraordinarily talented man he was. He will be missed.

6 thoughts on “More Tributes to Jonathan Frid

  1. Running home to see Jonathan Frid on “Dark Shadows was one of my true childhood joys. For all the early day live TV flubs, he and the whole Dark Shadows cast and crew gave a whole generation of kids something that in the midst of Vietnam, race riots, assassinations, and political unrest we could treasure for a lifetime –

    Suspense, intrigue, and more fun in one half hour than you could have at two Barnum and Bailey circuses, three Disneylands, and a thousand little league games. Monday through Friday. 4:00 P.M.

    Thank you for that.

      • FOLGER830. I ALSO USED TO RUN HOME FROM SCHOOL TO WATCH DARK SHADOWS. I TOTALLY ENJOYED THE SHOW.I LOVED BARNABAS AND STILL DO TODAY.THE WHOLE CAST WAS AND IS STILL AWESOME.AND INTHE MIST OF EVERYTHING GOING ON LIKE YOU WROTE DARK SHADOWS WAS THERE.

      • FOLGER830. I LOVED JONATHAN A.K.A. BARNABAS AND I ALWAYS WILL. DARK SHADOWS WILL REMAIN IN MY HEART FOREVER. LIKE YOU WROTE WITH EVERYTHING ELSE GOING ON AT THE TIME IT WAS AND ALWAYS WILL BE AND AWESOME SHOW THE WHOLE D.S. CAST WAS AND ALWAYS BE AWESOME

  2. Yes I too was “cursed” with Dark Shadows” at the age of 13 in ’67 when Barnabas arrived at Collinwood. I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Frid several times through the years when his “readers theater’ would travel close enough to home. Went to a couple conventions also in NYC in the 80’s. He was still vital then….full of life and enthusiasm. i missed his Brooklyn visit, this past fall….maybe not entirely without purpose. My daughter, a later on DS fan, lives in Queens and “forgot” to go. I suspect, neither of us really wanted to remember Jonathan in a frail way. God love him…a treasure.

  3. QUIENTIN. YOU WERE GREAT PLAYING THE ROLE QUIENTIN COLLINS. AND BEING WITH BARNABAS COLLINS HE WAS A GREAT MAN. D.S. WILL LIVE ON IN THE HEARTS OF THE FANS FOREVER AN JONATHAN FRID IN MY HEART AND IN THE FANS HEARTS WILL NOT BE FORGOTTEN.THANK YOU FOR THE MEMORIES

Leave a Reply

