Another Post About All the Little Things I Love About HELP!

Continuation of this post

Last time ’round, Ringo’s pants had just fallen down and Paul was very encouraging about it. Now, after the scientists’ failed attempt to remove the sacrificial ring from Ringo’s finger, the Beatles head back to their flat to…sing a song! What else?

vlcsnap-00060

 

And Paul is trying to impress Ahme (Eleanor Bron). Typical.

vlcsnap-00061

 

George, on the other hand, is verrrrrry suspicious of her.

vlcsnap-00063

 

And when Ahme pulls out a needle, George passes out. Poor thing.

vlcsnap-00064

This is the “intermission.” Remember, the Beatles smoked marijuana for breakfast around this time–and were just naturally very silly, very funny people.

insurance

George is alarmed that Ringo would just give up this valuable ring; John is psuedo-alarmed at George’s alarm.

vlcsnap-00067

 

Paul asks if the medicine about to be administered to Ringo is “habit-forming”; George assumes he is talking about the gum he is about to pop into his mouth.

vlcsnap-00068

 

And believe me, it is very exciting. He wraps himself in a Wrigley’s Gum Wrapper. Need I say more?

 

stopit

 

Clang and the gang have turned up, and I love how, amidst the confusion, George strangles John, responds nonchalantly when John tells him that it’s him, and continues to do so.

vlcsnap-00074

 

George–always on the lookout for some extra cash and his friend’s best interests (and in that order!!).

vlcsnap-00077

 

See what I mean? When the scientists arrive and inform Ringo that they shall have to operate on his finger, George wants to make sure it will be covered by the government. Ho!

vlcsnap-00079

 

And then the Beatles go skiing…and they’re not very good at it. (It was their first time!)

vlcsnap-00081

 

Not being very good at skiing, the Beatles decide to just sort of…fall over…

vlcsnap-00088

 

…And sing a song instead! Convenient, that piano is.

vlcsnap-00094

 

And hey, let’s have a picnic, too. And a toast! To us! Tonight!

vlcsnap-00092

 

I love how this was the Beatles’ first time skiing, how they (or at least, Paul) asked that it be worked into the script somehow, and how John is really, really bad at skiing and just annoys anyone else on skis who happens to know how to ski. Ho ho!

vlcsnap-00096

 

Pretty sure this is my favorite line in the entire film. Pretty sure I used to say this when coming out of the bathroom in elementary school. Pretty sure I had no idea what it meant. Pretty sure I should start proclaiming this to announce my farts. Especially now that I know what it means.

vlcsnap-00099

 

I love how George is suddenly hungry.

vlcsnap-00101

 

Ya think?

scotlandyard

 

Oooh, sassy.

vlcsnap-00115

 

Look, if you watch this film with me, this is just one of those moments where I hit PAUSE. And there is a moment (or two…or three…or maybe even four…) of silence for The Cheeks. Once, I did this, and my dad was in the same room and got very flustered and said, “Why did it stop?” Uh, HELLO.

vlcsnap-00119

 

The Beatles have now taken refuge in Buckingham Palace, and John decides this is getting a little to ridiculous and decides that it’s time to get of that ring…even if it means getting rid of Ringo’s finger, too!

vlcsnap-00121

 

I know Paul was The Cute Beatle and all, but sometimes I like to call him The Bossy Beatle.

vlcsnap-00123

 

Ringo does what Paul says (who has the will to disobey Paul’s wishes?), and George seizes this opportunity to sneak a peek at Ringo’s hand.

vlcsnap-00124

 

vlcsnap-00126

 

vlcsnap-00127

 

vlcsnap-00128

 

George Harrison remembered this scene taking days to film, due to their incessant giggling  (a residue of their breakfast, remember).

vlcsnap-00129

 

Two words: Paul’s face.

teabreak

 

Must be. That’s what I always do on my tea break. Actually, I don’t have tea breaks. But my sister does and that’s what she does.

vlcsnap-00136

You gotta read this line in slow-motion. You just gotta. Done it? Don’t it sound a million times more AWESOME?

vlcsnap-00141

 

George is very pleased with himself because he’s managed to avoid paying the pub bill. And John’s just…being John.

vlcsnap-00143

 

Exclaimed movie audiences everywhere.

vlcsnap-00145

 

Note: This is Paul speaking to Ringo, not the other way ’round.

vlcsnap-00146

 

George, your face.

vlcsnap-00148

 

You kind of have to hear John’s grumpy old man voice to fully appreciate this, but this is very nearly almost my favorite part in the whole movie. Wait, I’ve said that before about some other part, haven’t I?

vlcsnap-00149

 

They’re going to the Bahamas, by the way. And we’re just gonna have to pause for a few more minutes. For obvious reasons.

vlcsnap-00155

 

I love that George is playing this “drop something on Ringo’s head” game.

vlcsnap-00156

 

My precioussssssss!

vlcsnap-00157

 

Oops. I think somebody just touched something they weren’t supposed to.

vlcsnap-00160

 

I actually have no idea.

vlcsnap-00169

 

I love this expression of rare outrage from Ringo. The fiends!

vlcsnap-00170

 

Perfect summary of this movie.

vlcsnap-00172

 

I believe the expression is the cat who swallowed the canary!

vlcsnap-00174

 

I love George’s imitation of Tarzan. Almost as good as Peter Tork’s, if you know what I mean.

vlcsnap-00176

 

You tell ’em, Ringo! It’s good to see Ringo finally standing up for himself.

vlcsnap-00177

 

A happy reunion!

vlcsnap-00179

 

End of the film shenanigans.

vlcsnap-00181

 

Just a bit of trivia: The “white cliffs of Dover” swimmer is played by one of the Beatles’ road managers, Mal Evans.

vlcsnap-00182

And the final thing I love about this film is this closing dedication. Why was this film dedicated to Elias Howe? I don’t know. Does it really matter? No. It’s just reflective of the absurdist nature of this film…and I love it.

And that concludes all the little things I love about this movie. Okay, so it didn’t take me 250 posts to write about all the things I love about Help!, but it could have (I cut out a lot). Now do yourself a favor and watch this movie and laugh, laugh, laugh, and laugh. And watch out for those fiendish thingys. Ho, ho!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

