“Be whatever you wanna be, just be, just be a bee.”

I don’t know about you, but I feel very blessed to live on the same planet as Liam Gallagher.

This is a man who reportedly went into anaphylactic shock after eating a blue–yes, the report was very specific, it was blue–M&M.

This is a man who once tweeted, “Diarrhea in Korea!” (If there ever were a reason to join the Twitter universe, this man and his side-splitting tweets are it.)

This is a man who is a Belieber, going so far as to once claim that the front cover of the new Beady Eye album, BE, would read BE on the front, with I-E-B-E-R on the back. This comes from the same man who previously stated the new album would be called Lay Off My Avocado, Baby.

This is a man who claims his rear behind is superior to Beyonce’s.

This is a man whose outspoken nature is matched by no one (except maybe his brother) and whose raw, gritty voice is one of the most distinctive and powerful in all of rock ‘n’ roll history.

When Oasis split–actually, let me rephrase that: When Noel Gallagher left Oasis, Liam instantly formed Beady Eye with the other members of Oasis. Meanwhile, Noel went out to sulk in his limousine and write a carefully worded statement explaining his reasons for leaving the band. (Actually, there was one reason: Liam.) In 2011, the two camps released their respective debut albums: Different Gear, Still Speeding (Beady Eye) and Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds. Sales of Different Gear, Still Speeding were disappointing, dismal even. Still, I liked the album (more immediate than High Flying Birds, which I didn’t really appreciate until I’d listened to it about a dozen times)–maybe because it is part of my DNA to love anything Liam Gallagher touches. Just maybe.

As much as I loved that album, though, the new Beady Eye album, BE, is far superior. Kind of like Liam Gallagher’s behind is far superior to Beyonce’s. I love BE so much more than Different Gear, Still Speeding. Maybe it’s because it is new, and I haven’t had the chance to spend 700 hours of my life devouring it, listening to it nonstop, wondering if my ears will start to bleed from listening to it so much. Yet.

I’m not going to review the album track-by-track because: 1) It’s pointless. Every person who listens to this album will have a different opinion of it, will love certain tracks and loathe others. 2) I haven’t spent 700 hours of my life devouring this album yet, and thus I don’t feel even remotely qualified to write about it in detail. Shame on every music journalist in the world who thinks they are qualified to review this album because they’ve listened to it once or twice or six times–that is not enough!!!!!!!!!

Instead, I’ll just say that I can’t remember the last time I listened to a song repeatedly as much as I have listened to “Flick of the Finger.” And as much flak as Liam receives for his lyrics (Bob Dylan he is not), I don’t know that there are any lyrics as heartfelt as those found in “Don’t Brother Me.” (Don’t know who that song could be about, though. Don’t have a clue. Nope, nope, Noel. Er…) And for a man whose real voice hasn’t supposedly been heard since the millennium, the voice on this record, real or plasticine, sounds pretty freaking awesome.

Still, there will be critics and fans and hateful people in general who will hate this album and crucify it and proclaim it to be an offense to human life. And that’s okay. Because they are that other type of person in this world. Let me explain. In What About Bob?, the main character, Bob Wiley, explains his divorce to his psychiatrist this way: “There are two types of people in this world: those who like Neil Diamond and those who don’t. My ex-wife loves him.”

Well, I say, “There are two types of people in this world: those who like Liam Gallagher and those who don’t.” And what a sad, sad existence one must live to not like Liam Gallagher.

I mean, how do you hate a man sitting on a leopard print coach, wearing red pants, with a Who coffee mug, kissing a teddy bear? How?

When asked by Jools Holland where the title of the new album (BE) comes from, Liam responded, “Be whatever you wanna be, just be, just be a bee.”

I think I’ll just be grateful we live on the same planet, Mr. Gallagher, a planet where you make music and often outlandish, even more often true statements. That’s enough for me.

5 thoughts on ““Be whatever you wanna be, just be, just be a bee.”

  1. have u seen comments sections of BE reviews? ruff stuff. i wonder how representative r they. . . . . . . good article here and good writing.

    • I’ve only read a few reviews & a few comments–but enough to know that it’s the same reaction it’s always been–not just with the first Beady Eye record but with the last few Oasis albums as well. It’s the same criticisms and jibes, except now there is also a group of fans/critics who are slinging mud at Liam and praising Noel as the God Almighty (love the guy but he has the press wrapped around his finger), like Liam is some talentless imbecile who held him back from experimenting musically. Riiiiiiiiiiiight. I really, really, really like the album. Hopefully other fans do, too….and maybe even gain a few new fans, too!

      • im just a casual fan from america, but i thought bdi’s debut album was excellent and that BE is good. i was surprised the first one didnt do way better than it did. seems to me there is great antipathy over there to liam and he does seem to be something of a reptile, but isnt that sort of in keeping with being a rock n roll star?

        noel doing better than bdi i dont get. he seems to have decided to leave the rock genre for whatever you call what hes doing now.

        my theory is that what everyone hears is literally different — dependent upon your evaluation of the singer or group as people.

        just finished watching the entire DS series, so had to click here when saw the petofi url and the LG article.

      • I really think a lot of the ill feelings toward Beady Eye/Liam stem from the press. His media image resembles a cartoon character more than a real person. (He is ridiculous at times–the whole blue M&M incident, for example, but that endears him to me.) Noel, on the other hand, is perceived as the level-headed one seen as being in the same league as McCartney, Weller, Davies, etc. (Which he should be, but…) But then again I think there were always Oasis fans who thought Liam was a bit of a jerk, holding Noel back or giving Oasis a bad name. Like you said, it all really boils down to the individual, what they connect with musically, and how they perceive the singer/group.

        Wow, congrats on finishing DS! That is quite a feat. My attachment to the show is mostly nostalgic — watching it as an adult, I realize how ridiculous it could be. Were you drawn to the show because of the Tim Burton movie?

  2. i saw that white-face type makeup on the lead and that was enuf to put me right off the movie. didn’t need to know any more — he aint Barnabas.

    objectively DS the tv show was ridiculous but i think the audience was able to suspend disbelief because the actors never, and i mean never, let on that they thought it was it ridiculous. they all must have lived in fear to have maintained such discipline.

    funny thing about me just the other day complaining about the bdi situation, not getting the turn-off. well curiosity killed the cat. dont even want to talk about it but ive just read one too many LG related articles. not gonna go badmouthing them, but too much for me.

Leave a Reply

